Pelmeni

2014-02-22 13.12.28Eaten this afternoon on the weekly market on Boxhagener Platz, Berlin.

Pelmeni are traditional Russian dumplings. Or, as I describe them, they are “the Russian version of pierogi”. Pierogi being traditional Polish dumplings. That’s the thing – all the nations have their own dumplings. And they’re all tasty.

So if you happen to be on Berlin’s Boxhagener Platz one Saturday and you want to eat something that will warm you up, go for the pelmeni. Keep in mind though that for the price of 3,50eur/portion the dumplings are not homemade… The owners buy them frozen. So long story short, that made me rather disappointed.

2 thoughts on “Pelmeni

  1. I’ll be in Berlin in June so I’ll make sure I try these, they look good ๐Ÿ™‚ Have you tried pierogi? My dad used to make them and he either put potatoes in them, mince beef of my favourite; blueberries, truly delicious ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Hey, I sometimes prepare pierogi myself using my aunt’s recipe for the dough (I’m Polish:)). Make sure you visit Markthalle 9 as well when you come to Berlin, they organize pretty cool food events (such as Street Food Thursday).

Leave a Reply

